In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

Children in several cultures have frequently been taught that if they try their best, they will succeed at anything. Although this probably makes some children being stressed because of encountering many failures, in my opinion, it is very beneficial since this can encourage children to overcome obstacles, and motivate them to reach their targets. Apparently, struggling in the journey of achieving goals may cause high tension in some children. To explain, if children face various difficult tasks repeatedly for a long time, it will discourage them to move forward due to tiredness and loss of confidence. To illustrate, when I was young my teacher tried to put me on a football team. Even though I did not like playing football, I pushed myself to play it since the teacher kept telling me that if I tried harder, I would get better. However, I ended up being unhappy and finally gave up. Nonetheless, this instruction is quite important since it may be difficult for children to achieve their aims without coaching. So, making the children believe in their abilities might help them gain confidence and stimulate them to concentrate on their goals. My niece might be a great example of this since she used to struggle on increasing her GPA from 3.5 to become 4.0. She passed through plenty of failures and they used to make her feel down. Fortunately, her parent has always told her to put all effort into her study. This brings her back and makes her reach the target. In conclusion, while telling children to try hard enough in order to accomplish their targets could make them depressed due to suffering from many mistakes, I believe that it remains crucial because it can drive children to overcome troubles and lead them to their goals.