Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, the debate on whether the punishment for each type of crime should be fixed has been heated. Some people claim that it is fairer to have a fixed punishment while others argue that different circumstances should be considered. As far as I am concerned, whether punishments should be fixed need to depend on different types of crime. To begin with, fixed punishments may be more impartial for the victims. As some celebrities may bride the judge with a huge amount of money for a more favourable result, having fixed punishment may allow the result to be less biased. For example, if a famous person is accused of stealing, he or she should receive the same punishment as any other ordinary person. Therefore, having fixed punishment may be more beneficial for providing unbiased result. However, for cases that include life loss, the judge may want to make the decision based on each context. By considering offenders’ attitudes and explanations, judges may have a higher chance to give a more justified judgement. For example, the judge may consider the murder who conducted the crime by accident more sympathetic than those who have a clear intention. In this way, the length and the type of punishment for these two offenders may be varied. Therefore, the result may be more acceptable for the general public and people may have more faith in their judicial authorities. In conclusion, whether punishments should be fixed should depend on how it can bring a more justified decision. For those crimes that does not hurt many people’s interest, it’d be fairer to have standard punishment. Nevertheless, the judges may need to make the decision respective of different circumstances for those crimes that will have a long imprisonment.