The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or diagree?

The way in which we purchase something has changed drastically in recent years with the emergence of eCommerce platforms. A stratum of society believe that online and offline shopping can coesist coexist in future, however, I would argue that excessive online shopping might lead to a closure of most shops. This essay will discuss various reasons for this change. Firstly, big eCommerce companies are trying to kill small and medium scale businesses by undercutting their price in order to expand their customer base. This is because they do not have to pay any rent like shop owners and there are no middlemen, which enables them to sell anything at a discounted price to the consumer. For instance, these days many college students like to buy clothes from the internet via applications like Myntra instead of getting them from a physical shop in their locality. In contrast, if these businesses did not offer huge discounts to undercut the competition, it would give a chance to local shopkeepers to save their business. Secondly, a lot of young professionals are moving to ordering groceries online rather than getting it themselves. The reason for this lies in the convenience provided by these delivery apps. To illustrate, most employees working in the coorporate sector prefer the daily goods delivered to them on their doorstep due to the lack of time and energy to go outside and purchase it. Alternatively, if the coorporate culture had not deteriorated work-life balance of their employees, they would not have been habituated to ordering in leading to the survival of local shops. To conclude, It can hardly be denied that eCommerce companies are growing rapidly due to undercutting consumer price by not having to pay any rent and no middlemen. Furthermore, the habit of ordering everything from home is getting popular among youth as a result of poor work-life balance.