The breakthrough in medical sciences are by far the most significant advances in the world society over the last two centuries. Discuss this statement and give your opinion

Some of the major discoveries in human medicine in the past two hundred years have been quite impressive. This is seen in the good quality of life people are enjoying all over the world. This essay will therefore discuss the inventions of this period and how they have enhanced the diagnostic skills of physicians, as well as the in-roads that have been made in the area of drug discovery. To begin with, before the nineteenth century, medicine was practised with a lot of uncertainty. The implication is that, some doctors must have made the wrong diagnosis in the process. However, with the coming of diagnostic equipments such as the X-ray machine, the ability of of physicians to make accurate inferences was enhanced. For instance, with the X-ray machine, many conditions including tuberculosis were easily confirmed. Consequently, with the right condition ascertained, appropriate treatment will result in better outcome and ultimately lead to increased life expectancy. Furthermore, before the advent of antibiotics in the early twentieth century, the world was suffering from a high morbidity rate due to various infections. Fortunately, the founding of penicillin as an antibacterial agent, paved the way for even better drugs for the treatment of severe infections. In addition, the invention of vaccines had also helped to provide immunization against some airborne diseases thereby protecting the world against pandemics. Indeed, the impact of these scientific feats on the health of the populace during this era, far surpasses the past. In conclusion, the incredible innovations witnessed in medicine for two hundred years now, through the formulation of diagnostic agents and drug discovery has been remarkable. In my opinion, this has outshined other areas of human endeavour.