Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that parents should push their children to be engaged in organised group activities in their spare time, while others believe that it is crucial for offspring to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. I tend to agree with the former argument because it helps children to acquire multiple skills and they can put their energy in something productive. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and support my view with examples. Firstly, Parents must encourage their offspring to participate in organised group activities in their free time. So, the children develop a whole new set of skills that build their own personalities and characters such as communication, problem solving, planning and teamwork skills. In addition, when they grow up, they will be highly skilled persons who have many job opportunities ahead. For instance, studies showed that children can acquire skills easily through group activities and most likely they become more successful persons when they get older, than those who spend their free time alone. On the other hand, children have a great deal of energy that could be exploited through participating in systematic group activities in their spare time, thus they would be doing something productive and having fun as well. Moreover, leaving the child alone in his free time often leads to undesirable result. For instance, recent research showed that the offspring who spend a lot of time alone may suffer from autism in the long term. So, keeping an eye on the children and helping them to spend their free time wisely is their parents’ responsibilities. To conclude, I support that parents should encourage their enfants to spend their spare time communicating, exploring new things, having fun and acquiring more skills through engaging in group activities because it is something fruitful and a good way to use the children energy.