Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Leisure time has been a widely debatable subject in contemporary lifestyles, particularly to decide whether to do mental activities to boost the mind or make it relax. This essay will consider the rationale behind both perspectives before giving my personal opinion. On the one hand, advocates of the former notion might have the following arguments. Firstly, brain games can be used effectively to improve creativity. For example, word puzzles have been claimed scientifically in having the probability to increase neuron transmit which consequently makes the mind reacts faster to instant signals, as a result, it boosts the creative ability. Secondly, passive activities such as reading can greatly increase the amount of knowledge for one person. This is because books are undeniably a source of information. By reading them, people can absorb the contents inside that can be utilised later in practical situations. On the other hand, proponents of the latter viewpoint put forth the following ideas. To begin with, they might believe that during a day, the brain has been exhausted for work or study leading to a necessary spare time for it to rest recharging battery. Furthermore, unwinding mental systems is a vital part of the human body. Due to the reconstruction of brain cells, they need to be revitalized during resting. In conclusion, for certain individuals, continuously training the mind is beneficial. Nevertheless, it is also claimed that human brains require a timeframe to refill energy. In my opinion, I am of the latter view because of an enormous number of papers relating to overworking brains causing cells to die which shows a deterioration in human longevity.