There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or a bad thing?

Nowadays, the rules for protecting intellectual properties have been downplayed with the advent of online media platforms. Consequently, this has led to the fall in the revenue meant for publishers and singers. This essay argues that the ease with which people accessed inventions through the internet is unacceptable because it encourages plagiarism and can make some individuals to become jobless. To begin with, a discovery is something that usually takes someone many years to accomplish. When left unprotected, such findings could be stolen. Furthermore, stolen research findings can be plagarised plagiarized and used for comercial purposes without the owner's consent. Consequently, authors will be discouraged from writing while artists will seldom develop new sound tract. Thus the wider society will be deprived of the ingenuity and works of a great author or singer. For example, due to the availability of regulated materials in a web site, recently, a post graduate student copied verbatim the work by another researcher and presented it as his own. Indeed he deceived the examiners during the defence of the project but ultimately, the world will be at risk to have such a person in the academia. Furthermore, freely available intellectual materials have robbed inventors of their return on investment. This could also affect their families and those working with them, because when individuals are unable to profit from their endeavours, it means they can not provide for their family as well as their workers. Eventually, folks will loss their positions and this will lead to unemployment with the associated social vices. For example, recently, I met a young musician who was lamenting how he was unable to make any profit after launching an album because his songs were already trending on social media. This affected his career to the extent that he had to quite performing to be able to cope. In conclusion, accessing somebody's research work for free in the internet is unacceptable. It could make some persons to become jobless and encourage plagiarism.