In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern days, the importance and the contribution of both old and the young generations cannot be undermined. Some critics argue that youth is more important while others claim that old age is more valued. This essay will examine both views with arguments and examples; however, I strongly advocate the importance of older generations. On the one hand, the benefits of respecting and valuing older generations are multifold. This is because of the wisdom and the experience that can be obtained and used to prepare for a better future. For instance, COVID-19 has left the world more devastated than ever before, with millions of people losing their lives, thousands of businesses negatively impacted and millions of livelihood at stake. However, countries all around the globe were able to take preemptive measures to drastically reduce the casualties because of past experiences with similar pandemics such as MERS and SARS. This is largely due to the fact that older generations have gone through such disasters in the past and were able to educate and prepare for it. On the other hand, the importance of youth cannot be ignored. This is because, without the youth, there is no future. Without the contribution of youth, there is no guarantee for a better future. For instance, older generations eventually pass away and it's the youth's job to continue on with the vital task of creating better environments for the next generation and the generation after that. Thus, the value of the younger generation is equally as important as the older generation. In conclusion, the significant value and importance of both the younger and older generations are undoubtedly essential in preparing for a better future for the next generation. However, I strongly believe that the value of old age is extolled as their values and experience contribute significantly larger towards the future than the youth.