Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, more and more individuals enjoy playing games on computers rather than taking part in outdoor activities. The reasons for this vary and I would argue that this can have an adverse impact on the people. There are a host of reasons behind this phenomenon. One of them is the fact that computer games are well-known to be cheaper and simpler than any other kind of recreation. This can also be an effective way to entertain those who do not have much free time. To illustrate, instead of going outside to play tennis, a sport that requires lots of money and time to master, one can buy themselves a computer to play games during their spare time. As a result, this can save both time and money since video games require no skills or practice in order to have the best experience. Despite being an uncomplicated and effective way of refreshment, I still believe this is a negative movement. Video games can be very addictive, thus it can be very time -consuming if the players can not manage time properly. Additionally, video games can be the cause of some popular mental issues. For instance, scientists have already proven that violent video games make people become less sympathetic. This is due to the frequent contact with brutal scenes in those games that people gradually get used to. In conclusion, playing computer games is an undeniably efficient method of entertainment. However, this development may be unfavourable as it can take up time and cause some mental illnesses if not handled well enough.