Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

It is certainly claimed that doctors recommend people between 35 - 50 years to have an active fitness routine, however, most patients are unable to do so. This essay will discuss the reasons for this cause and suggest measures that an individual can take to follow a regular fitness schedule. There are two primary reasons that explain why people find it difficult to work out consistently. Firstly, it is generally stated that as people grow older, they tend to be less agile. As a result, elder people are unable to follow an exercise routine as they are accustomed to a specific lifestyle and are unwilling to move out of their comfort zone. Secondly, individuals in their mid-40s are extremely busy trying to balance their work and personal life, hence they find it difficult to block time for their fitness routine. For instance, as per an article from Times magazine, 60% of people belonging to the age bracket of 30 - 40 years want to exercise regularly but are unable to make time for it. There are several measures that one can take to make working out a habit. To begin with, an individual can find an exercise partner, the two would then motivate and hold each other accountable for exercising regularly. Furthermore, it has been researched that tracking progress motivates an individual to maintain a habit. The same can be applied by people who want to work out regularly. For example, one can keep a tally of the weeks where the fitness routine was completed. The willingness to keep the streak maintained would encourage an individual to keep going and before they realize exercise has become a part of their schedule. To summarize, doctors have recommended older people to exercise regularly, however, due to their lack of agility and busy schedule most of them are unable to do so. Individuals can use several measures to trick their brain into exercising regularly which would definitely benefit them in the long run.