Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There have been varied opinions regarding the regulation of water supply, some believe that the government should control the supply of water, while others think that it should be a free resource. In my opinion, the supply of fresh water should be regulated, as it is a scarce resource. There are two reasons why it could be argued that the supply of fresh water should not be regulated. Firstly, drinking water is a necessity and not a luxury, that it should be available only to the people who can afford it. Secondly, several countries suffer from a draught every year, the government of such nations should invest resources towards improving the situation as well as providing survival needs such as food and water to their citizens. For example, similar is the case in Africa, where at least three out of five children suffer from malnutrition due to the lack of adequate amounts of food and water. However, I would agree with those who believe that the water supply should be regulated, as although 75% of the earth is made of water, only a limited quantity is available for the masses to drink. Furthermore, if the supply of water is not regulated and is easily available, people will stop valuing it and use it negligently, not leaving enough for the generations to come. For instance, as per research conducted by Cambridge University, if an individual consumes more than 4 litres of water a day, by 2060 there will be no water left for the people to consume. To summarize, while it is important that the government steps in to improve the situation of the countries that suffer from the lack of water, the government should also regulate the supply of it to maintain its value and to ensure that the resource is available for the future generations.