Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Some critics are of the opinion that the growth in tourism has a deteriorating impact on native people and the environment while certain advocates assert that it is good for the economy. In my opinion, these activities definitely promote economic advancement and their impact on the native community is not particularly bad. However, the development of commercial infrastructure impacts the habitat adversely. The advantages and disadvantages of leisure travel will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, tourists are good for the economy. The influx of sightseers leads to the generation of jobs in the hospitality industry. To explain further, some South Asian countries now depend entirely on touristry. Moreover, this has increased demand for local products like handicrafts and is a good source of income for local artisans. These visitors also make a great audience for local art and dance forms. For example, a lot of travellers visiting India are interested in watching classical dance performances. Thus, it has revived many traditional art forms that were on the verge of dying. So, obviously, tourism is good for the economy and local people. On the other hand, tourist activity has a detrimental effect on nature. In order to cater to the needs of tourists more hotels and resorts have to be built. Most site-seeing places are located either in the hill station or near the sea and infrastructure development will damage these eco-sensitive areas. To instantiate, activities like jungle safaris disturb wildlife and may even lead to the dwindling of their population. In addition, the natural ecosystem is damaged from waste disposal by these visitors. For example, littering of waste especially plastics has a long term effect on the environment. Even aquatic life is not spared because plastic floating in the oceans is a choking hazard for fish. In short, tourism is certainly good for the surroundings and it has no real negative impact on local residents. However, excessive tourist activity and the thoughtless infrastructure development that accompanies it is certainly bad for the environment.