In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Television has become the mainstream media in most countries, which allows the authorities to broadcast some criminal trails to public. Although this trend has several benefits, the drawbacks should not be ignored. The obvious benefit of live court trails is that can help to deter crime. People who watched them are likely to gain the awareness of law. What it means that they are able to know how harsh the punishment is, and if they would commit a crime, they might rethink about the result. Besides, the scenes of criminal trails enable people to acquire information about self-protecting. For example, people can obtain the explanation of laws, procedures of trails, ways of keeping proves through these specific trails, which helps them to protect themselves when they encounter similar situation. However, there are also some drawbacks for these court trails. Firstly, criminal trail videos may not suitable for some people, especially the teenagers. For example, the details of criminal trails mostly contain the violent, bloody or porn information, images or footage, if they had easy access to these information, images or footage, they might copy what they watched on TV. In addition, it is likely to cause negative effects on victims. What it means that if they were exposed to the public, their privacy might under threat, which may cause a second harm for them. Moreover, the criminal trails on TV cannot be considered as an effective way to reform criminal. When they are known by public, they probably lose the chance to readapt to the normal life after they finish their sentence or punishment. As a result, the discrimination for criminals may lead to a potential threat to the society. In conclusion, while the criminal trails on TV can help to prevent crime and offer information and knowledge for general public, I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.