Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Admittedly, the Government is a key role to spend the amount of money wisely, so it can be considered that the money expenditure will be beneficial by constructing railways instead of roads. I definitely agree with this perspective since it may lead to a better improvement for people's mobility to commute, which means it will assist in mitigating the climate crisis by using public transportation collectively. In the rapid development era, most rich countries are excited to extend the infrastructures significantly, especially connecting suburbs and urban areas with railway stations. Regarding this, building the railways may be an excellent development that may expand integrated transportation or transport hubs, which is linked within the city. The real evidence that can be seen is looking for Singapore, which has the integration transportation by MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) railway stations between the city centre and the suburb area, so commuting with the MRT is the most preferred for societies to mobile. As a result, the bottleneck of overcrowding roads is plummeted moderately due to the massive user of high-capacity public transportation. In terms of reducing traffic congestion, adding more railways will be one of the solutions to preserve the environment by cutting the gas emission, which is a result of private transportation by burning fossil fuels. Looking at the high-tech country like Japan, for instance, the train is the most convenient transportation system with its fast as the highest speed train in the world. Thus, the interesting transportation may persuade people to commute with it and eventually it leads to the benefit that Japan is nominated as the less polluted country in the world. In summary, spending money to build railways by the government has a plethora of advantages that may appear overcoming the traffic congestion, flexibility mobilisation and less harmful for the environment, which is I agree with this thought.