Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

More than any time in history, the environment is suffering from the high consumerism of plastic. The purpose of this essay is to discuss its negative effects on our planet, as well as suggest some possible actions that can be taken in order to alleviate this issue. The main damage to the earth with the use of plastic is the impact on the fauna and flora. In fact, due to the ineffective disposal of plastic, the habitat of animals is being destroyed. To illustrate this, many environmentalists found aquatic animals with plastic pieces in their stomachs, and because of that, they end up dying. Furthermore, the production of plastic uses a considerable amount of natural resources, such as water and minerals, that could be used by humans. Therefore, plastic attacks both animals and our surroundings. However, there are some measures that could be put in place to mitigate this problem. The most effective measure is to ensure the correct disposal and effective recycling strategies, hence, less plastic will be found in nature. To address the high consumption of plastic, governments could propose alternative means for plastic items. For example, some nations are promoting the use of refilled water bottles and non- plastic shopping bags. Thus, people will be able to give up plastic without affecting their daily activities. In conclusion, the major problems caused by plastic bags, bottles and packaging are the bad influence on animals ' habitat as well as the huge use of resources. To solve these, effective approaches to deal with the disposal and recycling of these items can help to reduce its damage to our planet, and non- plastic items could be used to replace plastic use.