Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion that scholars should use the best available resources to conduct research, whether it is the internet or printed books. In my opinion, it is better to rely on the internet to gather scientific information. I feel this way for two main reasons, which we will explore in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, the internet saves time taken to gather information. With the advancement of technology and the widespread use of the internet, all the books and scientific journals are available online at our fingertips. Evidently, the majority of these repositories offer free services. Consequently, they replace the role taken by the libraries. My personal experience is a great example of this. When I was doing literature analysis for defending my postgraduate thesis, online databases like google scholar and Scopus helped me to gather all the information required and that too, within a short span of hours. As a result, I could perform well in my academics. I am sure that if I had not used the internet, I would not have defended my thesis so well. For this reason, I can say that the internet is a great time saver. Secondly, the internet offers a wide range of sources of information for us to depend. The printed materials, either purchased or available in the libraries are often limited. In particular, if we are in need of more information regarding a particular topic in a book, these printed sources often fail to give a solution. Obviously, this information is revealed by an advanced keyword-based search on the internet. Drawing from my own personal experience in advanced information gathering, when preparing for a lecture, I had failed to get the relevant knowledge from the textbooks. But, on using the internet with certain keywords related to my topic of interest, I found all the necessary ideas. Moreover, it provided me with additional evidence as well. So, it is certainly clear to say that the internet is the best source of information. In conclusion, I strongly feel that the internet has a positive effect on research. This is because of the wide range of sources available and the less time taken to provide the best information.