Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave. Do you agree or disagree? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

All forms of modern entertainment influence the perceptions of society. I strongly agree that television shows influence the behaviour of common people. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, films and television programs provide society with a lot of negative messages, which the people are willing to emulate. These anti-heroic icons are often portrayed as role models to a large number of teenagers and youngsters. Consequently, these characters do not follow the rules put forward by society and often plays an antisocial role. My own personal experience is an example of such a type of personality. When I was studying in my senior secondary schooling my classmate, who is influenced by a negative movie character, turned himself into rude behaviour. He started taking drugs and is involved in many quarrels and fights. Thus, he had stopped his education midway and is now unemployed. As a result, people started observing him as a person with negative qualities. For this reason, I can say that movies can negatively influence a person. Secondly, there are many movies and television shows that portray a positive input in many people's lives. In particular, these kinds of motivational events showcases the life of successful people and happily living families. Evidently, they do not just depict a positive message, but also changes the way people think. Drawing from my own personal experience, when I failed an entrance examination, I felt distressed and overwhelmed. But, later when I watched a television show focusing on a student who transforms his failure into success, it changed my perspective of failure. I restarted my studies and later, cracked the exam with flying colours. I am sure that if I had not seen the program, I would not have restarted my studies. So, it is certainly clear to say that films can positively influence a person. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that movies and television can cause an impact on society. This can be either detrimental or can embrace us with positive values.