Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Life expectancy and major improvements in the health of elderly citizens show that senior people over sixty-five years old could still have an active life. Nowadays the advances in sciences, medicine and technologies help the population to have a better quality of life than in the past years. In my,opinion society could have benefited from this by creating volunteers associations to help in environmental causes and social projects to help the people with needs. Most of the problems that society have these days are related to environmental damage and the social and economical crisis in poorer countries. Both of these problems are related to overpopulation and depletion of natural resources. Therefore less developed countries around the world. For instance in Colombia, Mexico, Peru people are affected by the lack of resources and soil depletion. It is often necessary for external help to solve these problems. The workforce is often necessary to assist the community in other causes. For,instance in the last,months Australia has been suffering the consequences of the flooding in many locations and the local people were recruiting volunteers to help these people in critical situations. Retired people could contribute to this sort of situation due to their disponibility of time. To sum up, as a matter of fact, longevity is extended due to improvements in the health of older which guarantee their active lifestyle for longer years. Society could be helped by active groups of elderly people joining associations to assist people in crisis or even environmental causes. This could be a good and responsible way to help the community.