Large companies use sport events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are normally bombarded by advertisements. Most of the companies use break time during sports events to advertise their products. While some people argue that it’s common to promote their products through various sporting events, some people feel that it will lead to the de-emphasis of the sports itself. The number of people watching sports is increasing over recent years. Mostly, sports televised games are free cost for viewers. This is only possible when the large corporations buy the break period for advertisement so organizers of the events can run the shows without any obstacles. Funds accumulated not only support the broadcast to be free but also enable the owner’s place to maintain and improve their facilities. For example, basically, football games in Thailand are free entry but its riches with advertisements. For these reasons, advertising in sports games is a primary catalyst for improving the quality of sports games. On the other hand, others argue that the effect aggregate is that audiences feel games are only the platform for adverts and individual players and organizers become a millionaire from those revenues. For example, there are many athletes who turn out to be rich because they are the man of the community and are favoured by citizens. Large corporations prefer to invest their advertisement expense on TV programs where those popular players participated with. In my opinion, there are also negatives in advertising on sports shows. To conclude, we cannot deny the adverts because we live in an economic society which is driven by advertising. Advertising is significant but the feeling of audiences through games is more important. There should have sports shows that also consider the viewers’ feelings.