Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

In recent years, many people think that academic standards in the areas of literacy and numeracy have dropped drastically. One of the main causes of this is children these days are giving more importance to other tasks whereas focussing less on key subjects. This essay will discuss some of these issues and recommend some viable solutions to them. These days children are expected to perform well in all areas in order to succeed in future. While there are so many extra-curricular activities to participate in, they give less importance to classroom lectures, which turn into their weaknesses later on. Because they get little direction from teachers, they tend to spend their time juggling multiple activities. For instance, based on a recent survey, it is found that secondary students were weak in mathematics and literature in comparison to a few years ago. Hence, this multitasking is not helping these students. There are some effective solutions to deal with declining standards of education. Firstly, teachers should make some of the subject attendance mandatory and track the progress of each student strictly. By doing this, schools will ensure their pupils are getting strong in the desired subject areas. Secondly, create a healthy competitive environment among internal or even external students. If they are challenged, they will work hard to reach success. For example, mathematics quizzes often bring the best out in students. In conclusion, although extra-curricular activities are important to excel in life, ignoring numeracy and literacy is not a viable solution. Therefore, tutors along with the help of parents should work together to ensure a balance between everything.