Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Several people have the opinion that homeschooling is the best option for a child's development, while others believe that children benefit from going to school. In my opinion, going to school is best for a child's development as it helps mould a child's brain in ways homeschooling cannot, however, this essay will discuss the advantages associated with both learning styles. There are reasons why homeschooling is better as compared to classroom teaching. To begin with, learning at home ensures that a child has an undeterred focus on their studies and is protected from all distractions. Additionally, the children avoid situations that may have a negative impact on their mental health such as bullying and peer pressure. For instance, as enacted in the movie 'Wonder', the child had to face several judgemental situations, which he didn't have to face while learning from home, thereby severely impacting his mindset and confidence. However, I strongly believe that the advantages of going to school outweigh those linked with homeschooling. Firstly, there are several life skills like teamwork, networking, public speaking etc., that are important for a child's development and cannot be taught at home. Secondly, healthy competition at school encourages a child to progress and grow as an individual. For example, the motivation to gain the title of a head girl/ head boy forces a child to study harder and actively participate in all extra-curricular activities. To summarize, the positives of learning from school outweigh the advantages of being taught at home. According to me, the school prepares a child for the real world and encourages them to be a better version of themselves each day.