Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some believe that adding more sports centres into public spaces would lead to a better improvement of the overall health status of people living in communities, others argue that it would not have any significant impact, and there ought to be other alternative mechanisms in place to keep people healthy. Although the increase in the number of sports facilities might result in a greater proportion of residents going for more exercise, without proper education, people would not be aware that one must be physically active to be healthy. People need spaces to do sports. That is why having as many sports stadiums in a community as possible is considered one of the best ways to keep the public healthy. With gyms in every corner of the city, people can conveniently access the ones nearest to their homes or workplaces. As a result, more and more people will go for exercise and be able to do a wide range of physical activities. For instance, the Olympic Stadium was purposively built at the heart of Phnom Penh city, and it can be seen that it is always filled with people, especially during the before- and after-work hours and weekends. However, I think having physical infrastructure is not enough to encourage people to be physically active, and education is a more efficient way to inform the public about healthy lifestyles. The reason why educating people is a more powerful strategy to enhance public health is that it teaches people how to correctly lead a healthy life, and with such knowledge, one would have the motivation to go to gyms regularly. Informing the public about the different types of physical activities and how to schedule them would have tremendous effects on gymgoers. For instance, many sports centres these days offer personalised training programs, where trainees can have one-on-one sessions with trainers who are professionally trained and equipped with knowledge and skills on how to effectively do certain types of exercises. Consequently, many gymgoers can actively do physical training without hurting their muscles. Thus, I think it is more important that people are educated and well aware of what they should do during the sports sessions to achieve a healthy life goal. In conclusion, while some argue that the increase in the number of sports facilities is the key to public health improvement, I think it is more crucial that people are taught how to properly do sports because this will tell them how to effectively and efficiently build a healthy lifestyle.