In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers.Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

As the development of technology continues to strive for success and develop at a record-breaking pace, areas of transportation are now being heavily affected. As more organisations are researching and developing driverless vehicles, there are multifold advantages and disadvantages of such an approach. Both views will be discussed with arguments and examples, however, I strongly advocate that such an approach's advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, with the advent of sophisticated and advanced technologies, the positive effect it has in the transportation sector is incontrovertible. This is because such technology significantly reduces the possibility of accidents and overall improve the driving experience. For instance, the majority of accidents on road are mainly caused because of numerous factors such as falling asleep, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and lack of experience which all interfere with the individual's ability to drive safely on road. Therefore, removing those elements that heavily affect safe driving, significantly reduces the possibility of accidents that affect both the person driving and those around them. On the other hand, allowing such sophisticated technology to interfere with the current transportation sector, it's going to have a direct impact on those individuals working in the transportation sector. This is because, implementing driverless technology, it's going to significantly cut down and save costs by removing bus, train, tram and taxi drivers. For instance, companies won't have to pay wages, provide training and education and pay insurance if they decide to implement such technology because it's low maintenance compared to hiring drivers. Therefore, the majority of individuals working as transportation drivers will eventually lose their jobs and leaving many people jobless across the country. To conclude, although there are clear advantages and disadvantages of having driverless vehicles in the future, I strongly believe the benefits of implementing driverless technology in the future outweigh the disadvantages as it creates a safer environment for the driver.