Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

A person's attire can vary from simple to complicate. Some will argue that there is a possibility of guessing the cultural background and the characteristics of a stranger by the way they dress. I partially agree with this statement and this essay will elaborate on the reasons for my agreement and disagreement. To begin with, many grooms and brides wear their traditional attire on their wedding day. In some cultures, the clothing style will change according to the race of the family or where they are situated. For instance, in Sri Lanka, the saree style will differ from province to province. In short, people wear specific clothing for cultural events such as weddings, which represents their ethnicity. On the other hand, different purposes can determine different clothing styles for many people. Weather and type of occasion can be a few of those reasons. For example, many women wear scarves in winter even though they do not belong to specific religions such as Muslim. Moreover, people dress up professionally if they go to meet a client even if the client is one of their best friends. Clearly, it is evident that different reasons can change the choice of clothing. In conclusion, I discussed the situation where people will dress up according to their cultural background and where other reasons such as weather will change the choice of attire. In my opinion, clothing style is not a good indicator of a human character or their background.