Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some languages are likely to be forgotten due to the few numbers of speakers around the world. While there is an argument that governments should spend money to tackle this problem, I agree with the other group who do not agree with this idea. Some people believe that governments must allocate a specific budget to save endangered languages. The importance of a language has not been covert to anyone. A language may be the most important factor of a culture, which means there would be no history if the language was not invented. For example, scientists now know many things about primary humans by reading their drawings in caves. Therefore, extinction of a language would be equal extinction of the related culture and history. However, I believe that trying to save all languages could be impossible. Firstly, English has been accepted to be a worldwide language, especially in the academic world. That means everyone should learn English and be able to communicate in this way which may result in vanishing less popular languages Through Time. Secondly, I think some endangered languages such as Yiddish, Oyrat and Breton are just local and learning them would not be useful in the future, to the point that even children in those areas do not learn them as their mother tongue anymore. In my opinion, it would be better for people around the world to speak in a couple of languages instead of many various ones. In conclusion, although there is a population who believe that governments should take action to prevent some languages from extinction, I agree with those who think it would be a waste of money.