Some people think that poverty is the reason behind crime. Do you agree or disagree?

The problem of poverty related to crime which was always debatable has now become more controversial. In my opinion, crime and poverty both have a skin and nail relationship. It is difficult to separate two different ideas. Hence, this essay will highlight the reasons to support my viewpoint. Analysing the statement and explaining further, the first and foremost reason behind this is that poverty makes the living condition unsustainable. Life becomes miserable as there is zero affordability. Another striking reason in this regard is that poverty creates the situation in which a person becomes helpless and is left with no choice except to commit a crime in order to meet their basic necessities like food and shelter. Categorically discussing, it cannot be ignored that the main logic behind this is that in poverty, illiteracy becomes very high. So, in this competitive world, there is a lack of opportunities and impoverished citizens become deprived of basic amenities. Probing ahead, one of the main underlying reasons stems from the fact that in developing and underdeveloped countries, the government policies do not support the have not. Moving further, it is pertinent to mention that poverty, unemployment and corruption are the biggest curses for any country. Hence, such grave issues compel the poor community to engage in variable crimes like drug dealing and trafficking from where they can demand a high amount of money. Moreover, poverty increases in slum areas with high population and worst living conditions in which there is no awareness for progress. To recapitulate, according to the arguments mentioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the drawbacks of poverty are indeed too dire to ignore. Therefore, it should be the government's top priority to take care of the people who are below the poverty line.