Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages.

Work culture has changed drastically in recent years. While some believe that working day and night is beneficial due to the appreciation and respect that comes with it, I would strongly argue that withdrawing from hobbies and interests can be detrimental for mental health. On the one hand, those who think working long hours has more upsides might argue that it makes them feel appreciated and respected with their colleagues and their employer. This is because of the assumption that the people who work longer are hard working and loyal to their employer. For example, employees who work till late night usually get better perks and bonuses from their employer. On the other hand, I firmly believe that if you do not have any time to pursue your hobbies and interests, it could have a huge impact on your mental well-being. Hobbies play a vital role in relaxing the mind and releiving the stress from work. But if there is no time for these fun activities, your mind will not get a chance to de-stress leading to damage your mental health and causing depression. For instance, most working class people in Japan are depressed due to poor work -life balance. In contrast, if these employees spent some time on playing a sport or working out, it would improve their physical as well as mental health. In conclusion, although working long hours might be help your reputation and provide some extra perks, leisure activities are vital to mental well-being and to avoid depression as they aid in de-stressing the mind after work.