The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Currently, health has always been the center of the debate, especially when the governments failed to prevent coronavirus from spreading all around the world, causing them billions of dollars to treat and cure infected victims. So, it is safe to say that funding in prevention methods is a wiser option, but governments should not neglect serious disease treatment either. It goes without saying that prevention is better than cure. Scientifically, human health can be reinforced by varied approaches such as eating with a balanced diet, exercising, or meditating, so that the chance of suffering an illness is lower, and they will not have to feel pain or spend a large amount of money on treatments and medicines. Furthermore, the government should invest more money in raising people’s awareness and knowledge by opening more health classes so that diseases that are time, money consuming, and arduous to cure like cancer or AIDS can be somewhat prevented. On the other hand, if the governments do not fund enough money on aiding treatments or medical research, this could lead to catastrophe. People with serious health issues could face a death sentence if local hospitals do not have enough medicines or facilities. Take France as an example, they did not have the oxygen tanks necessary for people diagnosed with Covid-19 to use, consequently, many patients died without having treatment. Not to mention there many health problems that existed without a proper cure, the government should consider investing an understandable amount of money to find an easier way to treat those diseases, and developing medicines that have fewer side effects to make patients suffer less pain than they have to. To conclude, prevention is undoubtedly offered more benefits than treatments but it is also wrong to solely invest in prevention alone. Governments around the globe should know how to invest in both in a reasonable way.