Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

Despite the fact that cycling is useful for our health as well as our environment, the majority of countries are not using bicycles for daily transportation. In this essay, some possible reasons will be discussed as well as how it is feasible to make people use bikes as their means of transport. To begin with, in some countries the price of an ordinary bicycle is amazingly expensive. As a result, they can not afford to buy one. For example, in Taiwan, people can use public transport freely within the capital district. Therefore, individuals are less likely to own a bike with additional costs. Another possible reason would be the lack of special lanes for bicycles, which can make cycling much safer. For instance, the use of bicycles in top countries is more than in developing countries, because of the safety measures. The first possible way to intrigue people is to prepare some shared bicycles for public use. In other words, governments can introduce some ride-park schemes in city centres; therefore, people can use them freely or at most pay a small amount of money. The second way to encourage people is to allocate some safe lanes specifically for riders to cycle quickly, and more importantly to avoid traffic congestions. Hence, these strategies would give logical incentives to people who are reluctant to bicycles rather than private cars. To conclude, owning a bike is either expensive or dangerous in some cases. However, authorities can provide minimal facilities for individuals to encourage them to use other vehicles less frequently.