In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

One of basic human needs is having a place to stay and live which we either can owning a home or renting one. Owning a home is not been easy for anyone in some countries recently because of land limitation. Aside from that, house price has been gone up for many years and most likely it will always increase for some years ahead. Thus, this situation has changed people from owning home to rent a house or living in an apartment. First, most of rich people in some countries have more than two houses in which they can sell with higher prices in the future. Houses have been seen as a profitable assets that will get a high return for them. In addition to this, other people can not afford a house due to a decrease on house supply. For instance, only wealth person who can own a site house. Second, the availability of land in some countries is limited so it affected the house supply. Land availability has been an issue for some years backward where most of the land has been used to build offices, shops, and malls. Land productivity is getting lower as the buildings that have been built is not occupied enough. However, this issue can be solved by building apartments but for some people owning a site house is more comfortable to live and having a neighbourhood is the good one. To conclude that, this negative situation will get worse if the government do not take any actions by creating policy towards housing. Thus, government should monitoring tax houses for those who have more than two and giving a reluctant price for those who just started to own their first house. In addition to that, the apartment price and availability should be monitored and the government can collaborate with developers to develop affordable houses for the people.