In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby, To what extend do you think this is a possible trend?

It is true to say that the conception of shopping has changed in the last few decades. In previous times, it was seen as a domestic task whereas nowadays it is considered a hobby. In my view, this vision is a complete misconception as it ends up encouraging consumerism among society. On one hand, I believe shopping is still considered a house task however, a new scope has been associated with it. Even though this activity is still being done regularly, the point is how we actually manage it. Today’s life offers us a wide range of places to go and buy staff whereas in the past the selection of places was more accurate as there was a lack of choices and abundance. For example, the situation of going to the supermarket and selecting whether to buy a kiwi from New Zealand or pineapple from Costa Rica could come across in some developed countries. Consequently, it is more likely to lose this consciousness about where do theis food actually come from and the effort that takes exporting them to many different places. On the other hand, is precisely this new conception of shopping that now govern specific countries which lead to misunderstanding the aim of it. Buying either food or clothes should accomplish our needs and make our life easier. Although, the common mistake appears when we fail into the habit of consumerism which means to consume without any purpose but consuming itself. For instance, it is commonly accepted to go to the shopping mall after a tough working day to pay for something that makes us feel better. Overall, I think that obsessively buying certain items reflects an attempt of filling up an emotional need, so that, we feel more satisfied after doing it. To conclude, I agree that shopping could be understood as a hobby but it is definitely a bad approach. In my opinion, it certainly exists this huge industry of buying without any which induces the loss of focus while doing it. It is undeniable that buying something should be a conscious act of selection rather than a compulsive action made just for fun.