At the present, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The population in some countries comprises a lower number of elders as compared to the younger people. Although there are a number of benefits involved with this situation, the drawbacks are not negligible. Nonetheless, I believe that the advantages far outweighed these disadvantages. To begin with, there are numerous advantages of having more young adults in the country. First of all, the young generation is productive and creative and thus are more likely to bring about change and innovation in their country. They come with fresh ideas and are free from old superstitions and traditional beliefs. For instance, in the highly innovative US tech industry, most employees are only in their late 20s but they contribute most to the economy as compared to other age bands. Thus, having a higher proportion of young persons is very beneficial as they bring about changes and contribute most to the economy. On the other hand, there are a few notable downsides to this situation. A large young population in a country can lead to unemployment among them. Most older persons have their careers figured out. They have their stable corporate job or run their own business. In comparison, many young adults especially those who have just graduated lack the essential skills and knowledge required for jobs in the present world. However, this is not a major drawback as long as young people are willing to upskill themselves or leap into self-employment. In summary, it would appear that more young citizens can cause an unbalance in the job market. However, this drawback is greatly outweighed by the advantages that a younger generation brings to the economy of a nation.