In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Railway networks have always been considered as one of the important parameters of economic growth. By innovation of modern fast trains, some people believe governments should allocate financial resources to update railway networks to be compatible with these trains. Others, on the other hand, advocate the necessity of extending of currently available public transportation methods. In my opinion, updating the railway network is a must for any country, according to its positive effects on the economy and society. Generally, trains are a safe and economical method of transportation for both passengers and cargo. It also has minimum adverse effects on the environment, which makes it more popular than other public transportation methods. Manufacturing modern high-speed trains, in addition to their high technology and safety, caused many countries to renovate their old railway systems. This investigated money will definitely boost their economy in the near future, while the cost will be recouped many times over by the benefits it brings. Other forms of transportation also could be beneficial significantly. For instance, aeroplanes, ships, or other forms of land transportation move a considerable proportion of passengers and cargo globally. However, there are two obstacles in this regard, first is geography that limits the extension of sea, air or land transportation, and the second is the final price of conducting development projects. In conclusion, the best solution for each country might differ according to the variety of parameters. The up-dated railway network, however, would be one of the most affordable and environmentally friendly public transportation methods for both travellers and businesses.