In cities, space for housing should be created by knocking down historic buildings. What is your opinion ?

Nowadays, the scarcity of dwelling places is increasing in cities, and governments are taking steps to get rid of this issue. Some people argue that to build new houses in place of historical monuments would be a great idea however I completely disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will highlight the reasons why I am against it. Firstly, we should believe that any historical monument represents the culture, arts, the tradition of the country and native people. Every country's folks should preserve their cultural heritage and values. It represents one's country's rich history. Additionally, these buildings are usually considered as a source of income in terms of tourism. Besides, these architect structures play an important role in the domestic economy. For instance, every month 1 million visitors visit Agra to see the Taj Mahal, and local tourism gets boomed. Local shops and hotels also get benefitted from all tourists. Secondly, governments should think of other options for solving the problem of house-space. Building skyscrapers, multi-storied apartments would be a good option to accommodate a large number of folks. Furthermore, the country's government should bring infrastructure development to the countryside so that no need to demolish any cultural heritage monuments. On top of that, it will generate employment and people's living standard will be raised. In conclusion, creating a residing place by knocking down cultural and historical buildings would be a bad idea. No government should take such decisions.