Schools should focus more on the STEM courses and less on the fine arts. Do you agree or disagree?

People have various views about which type of courses, STEM or fine arts, should school pay attention to. This essay will explain why I agree with the view that we should put more resources and focus on STEM courses. One very strong argument for this issue is that STEM courses provide an all-rounded education that is beneficial to individuals. STEM teaching and learning goes beyond the transfer of knowledge; it engages students and equips them with critical thinking, problem-solving, creative and collaborative skills. Also, young people who study STEM will acquire a mindset that enables them to become qualified professionals and have a clear career after their school. Recent research shows that STEM graduates have more working options than non-STEM graduates. Thus, STEM students are well-equipped and have more opportunities to join the professional workforce. Apart from the advantages to the STEM learners, the courses also bring upsides to society. It is because the STEM programs prepare people to work in an environment full of high-tech innovation and enhance them to apply knowledge in new projects. As more and more STEM graduates, society will become knowledge-base and, hence, boost up and help the economy grow. In contrast, the fine arts courses, which are generally related to cultural and aesthetic knowledge, are not practically related to people’s daily life, nor bring positive financial impacts to society. Therefore, STEM education has a more practical influence on the public than fine arts programs. According to the above-mentioned advantages, in my viewpoint, schools should put more focus on STEM courses rather than fine arts courses.