Some students choose to work or travel after leaving school and before going to university. Many people, however, say that working experience is more useful in adult life than travel. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, many pupils decide to take a gap year, and,usually, they take it after finishing high school. There are students that prefer to work, whereas others, on the opposite, prefer to travel. From my point of view, I believe that both of the experiences are beneficial, and each of them will bring different outcomes. The first type is pupils that prefer to spend their gap year by having an internship or maybe a full-time job before entering their undergraduate program. There are several reasons why they decide to have a working experience. Firstly, it will increase someone’s chance to be accepted from a good university, and this is because admission officers admire teenagers that eager to gain more practical experience. Secondly, sometimes big enterprises offer scholarships and jobs after graduating from university. For example, most of these scholarships go to outstanding students, and by being an intern in that firm, someone might get that scholarship. The second type is pupils that prefer to use their gap year in cultural immersion, visiting a new country, or maybe to learn yoga. This archetype tends to seek new experiences, and by doing that they discover themselves. Many parents report that young adults become more mature, well-rounded, and open-minded after spending their gap year travelling. Moreover, although it is risky to travel to some countries in Africa or South America, many students go there for volunteer reasons. In the same vein, various undergraduate programs in the US prioritize student who has diverse background and experience. In conclusion, the gap year was always a matter of preference, and I believe each path will impact pupils.