Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The latest years have seen a sharp development in the field of technology with a consequential increase in its usage to observe what ordinary people do or say. Cell phones and security cameras allow staying with people 24 hours a day, without their knowledge of this fact. Frankly, I find it tough to list noticeable advantages linked to this steady increase in monitoring and this essay will explain reasons for my opinion. Obviously, the fact that all actions and speeches are recorded means that in some fields things can be easier and quicker. For instance, judges can use these records as witnesses in their trials, so that they come quickly to a resolution. Moreover, researches people do by surfing the net represent useful data that allow companies to send customized advertising to their potential customers. All these seem to be positive aspects. However, this rapid development has some major drawbacks. Because we always have a mobile phone with us, we are constantly observed in what we do or say, where we are and with whom we meet. Consequently, our privacy is quite nonexistent. While we surf the net, cell phones collect a huge amount of information regarding our personality. As a result, a virtual copy of each person is created and corresponding data are sold to big companies that use them in order to optimise their profits. Thus, we are treated as objects to be sold and bought. In conclusion, frankly, I think that recent technological developments have made our lives increasingly different and the number of disadvantages linked to this change overcome positive aspects. Despite this fact, it is undeniable that technologies often make our lives easier and thus we have to deal with them.