Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

According to the Panorama of Food and Nutritional Security, the percentage of people with obesity tripled since 1975. The increased prevalence of overweight is mainly caused by cheap, unhealthy food and people ’s sedentary lifestyle. Nowadays, society often does not have time and energy to prepare meals for themselves. This is why fast food and semi-finished products are so popular. They are cheap, widely advertised, tasty, contain a lot of calories, and not enough nutrients. Also because of city lifestyle with cars, public transport, and prevalence of remote work, the amount of physical activity decreased in everyday life of an average person. All this leads to overweight and consequently problems with health. Obesity can be a cause of premature death and illness including diabetes, heart disease, stroke, arthritis, and many other diseases. So, what can be done to tackle this problem? First of all, I believe, people should be educated about a healthy diet and good eating habits. It takes some time for our brain to receive satiety signals after we consumed the necessary amounts of calories. So, it is important to know how much food do we need and what nutrients should food contain. Additionally, people should learn to distinguish hunger from other triggers, for example, stress, bad mood, social interactions. I think it is a good idea to include these topics in the school program and advertise a healthy lifestyle. Secondly, I think healthy food should be more available. Government should support companies, which are selling healthy snacks, and regulate the content of processed foods on the market. Third, I think, regular physical activity should be promoted by increasing walking and cycling paths. Also, it is great when there are sports facilities at the workplace and compensation of sports expenses for employees. In conclusion, the increase in the weight of many people in various countries owes mainly to the high consumption of unhealthy food and lack of exercise. However, these problems can be dealt with if healthy and nutritious choices are available and affordable to all consumers, people increase their daily physical activity, and are informed of the dangers of eating unhealthily.