Many people believe that we should protect all wild animals while others believe we should just protect some of them.

Discuss both views and give your opinion. Some individuals have suggested that wildlife conservation programs should only be targeted selectively to the endangered species rather than concentrating on protecting all wildlife, while others have argued that all wild beasts should be protected. This essay agrees with the former view, that effort should be concentrated toward the protection of the ones that are under the threat of extinction. The essay will discuss both opinions. On the one hand, human activities; one of the major causes of wildlife habitat destruction are not selective. That is, these activities such as bush clearing or burning, industrial waste generation through the burning of fossil fuels, and a lot of others, affect generally all organisms, the only reason some species are not yet being threatened is the adaptive features that make them survive these adverse environmental changes resulting from the activities of man. Therefore, government protective measures should rather be preventive; discouraging such environmentally harmful human activities, rather than isolating and conserving only endangered species. For example, placing emphasis only on the selective few on the verge of extinction; means that no plan is on the ground for other organisms, provided they also become endangered. That being said, the other proponents who believe that emphasis should be on the threatened wild animals also have a valid point. Protecting all wildlife may be unrealistic, and therefore less pragmatic. this is because some of the causes of environmental degradation are unavoidable natural or human-related events that cannot be controlled. As a result, concentrating effort toward safeguarding all wild animals may be an extremely difficult project to embark upon. For instance, the increasing drought in some arid areas due to the effect of increasing global temperature, and less precipitation is a major environmental problem that is difficult to prevent and can affect all animals living in the bush. Thus, it is just worthwhile to protect only the threatened ones. In conclusion, though preventing human-related activities that can have devastating effect effects on environmental health is a good measure, it may not save all wild animals; rather isolating and preservation of endangered organisms appear to be a more pragmatic endeavour. I strongly believe that this will achieve a more productive effect in the long run.