To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often considered that the solution to satisfy an increasing global population is to treat insects as a food source. I disagree with this opinion and think consuming insects may pose potential health risks and indirectly exhaust another edible food source. First of all, I believe that consuming insects can increase the chances of developing the disease. Insect shells carry bacteria and viruses, thus ingesting insects can lead to health problems. For instance, my uncle was served with water cockroaches because it is a delicacy from Thailand. He suffered fever and intense diarrhoea for a week. That's why I believe insects cannot be an edible food source. Secondly, increasing the consumption of insects decreases other available food sources for humans. In other words, many crops like plant-based foods heavily depend on insects ’ habitats. For instance, bees are known for pollinating plants and flowers by carrying pollen around their bodies. Without bees in our ecosystem, plants can no longer reproduce and would reduce the production of plant-based foods. Thus adding insects as a food source will affect the reproduction of plant-based foods available to humans. However, insects are made of protein and are nutritious for our bodies to consume. Many countries that do not have access to meat only insects for nutrition. For example, there are very few animals living in deserts like Tibet, and there is a wild abundance of grasshoppers. Many Tibetans would deep fry grasshopper and serve it as a main dish. In conclusion, the disadvantages of consuming edible insects as a food source outweigh the benefits over nonconsumption because insect causes diseases and hinder the reproduction of another food source.