Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In mordern order day, a lot of companies has introduced a new creative solution for their workspace, the open- space designs, as oppossed to the normal cube-block design. This essay will demonstrate how this wave of change in work environment has transformed the employee’s experience in an effective way, but will also show that this new space design could lead to distraction during work period. While acknowledge that there are drawbacks, the essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the main benefit of open-concept workspace is that it provides an effective alternative to the usual boring separate- work rooms. The open space acts as a lounge for the employees and help bring people in the office closer together, which encourage team work and human connection. Google is a big cooporations corporation that have succesfully experiemented with this type of design, people over there have a working environment full of interesting objects. There are ping pong tables and arcade games, the furnitures that people used come in different colours and shapes. Someone could work with his computer outside in nature or he could work sitting on a hammock or a pod. All of these things are usefull in helping the employee relax and promote creativity, it is working but it is also like being back to the childhood, essentially. However, the open-concept work space does come with a down side, that is, it might not work well for companies that have a low morale workforce. Employees that are not well selected or not well-managed could hardly rip the full benefits of the open- space concept. In orther words, there needs to be a clear productive goal that everyone must meet ortherwise even the most creative workspace wouldn’t able to save them from destraction distraction. Last year, one finacial firm in my town did an experiementation with open-concept workspace and it was reported that the productivity fell with this model, it was hard for the workers to focus at their duties when they don’t have their own private space. In conclusion, although the new wage of open- space work concept doesn’t guarantee effectiveness and productivity with every company, it does however, bringing new ideas and broaden the deffinition of mordern workspace. Employees with balance between work and play would experience possitive vibe and that could help spark new inovative, espeically when they in a team environement. Hence, the advantages of open workspaces deffinitely outweigh the disadvantages.