in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travel to large shopping center or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It seems that alongside city sprawl and overpopulation, there is a growing trend in necessities of life that encourage investors to launch shopping centres in order to fulfil their needs, as a result in the recent decade we have been witnessed the closure of many local shops. In my perspective, this transformation has more advantages in comparison with the disadvantages. In this essay, both sides will be discussed. On the one hand, local shops have always realized urgent people’s necessities to some extent such as groceries, clothes and so on, until the appearance of shopping malls. Therefore you do not need to go far away from home to reach there. What’s more, being familiar with the owner of local shops give an opportunity to the lower class to pay off later. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of a local shop is that customers have not many choices to purchase while shopping centres provided people with a wide range of diverse new products which come in different colours, qualities and models. Furthermore, one obvious merit of mall centres is to save time and money. For instance, it is more likely that if you could not find something in a local shop, you have to devote time to browse around all shops that seem time-consuming and costly. Moreover, there will be a phenomenal reduction in commuting, air pollution and traffic congestion. On apply top of that, albeit closure of a local shop causes few people to become unemployed, large centres generate many jobs such as clerk, seller, accountant. To sum up, in my view, many societies which are in transition are going to experience this evolution the sooner the later. Due to the fact that closure of local shops triggers loss of soley source of income for few people, the convenience of purchasing and suiting all tastes, lead them into a large shopping mall. Likewise, customers can considerably benefit from wholesale discounts. Overall, the positives of a large shopping centre outweigh its negatives.