Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

It has been argued by many that all testing on animals is harmful and should be prohibited in accordance with the law while others think that scientific breakthroughs that are important can be found from experimenting on animals. I think that experimentation on animals can be justified, but there are also other methods of such trials. Firstly, there are numerous organisms such as chimpanzees and primates that share similar genes to us. This makes it easy for scientists to understand biological processes and predict outcomes of certain diseases that occur in humans, without affecting them. For instance, there is ongoing research on how to replace dopamine neurons lost in the brains of Parkinson's patients using model organisms such as worms. Additionally, there are certain diseases that are only unique to humans, therefore, testing on animals would help to survey therapies that can help us, without harming the creatures. However, there are also alternatives to experimenting on animals. Nowadays, artificial intelligence and technology are becoming more common and advanced. Instead of directly testing on animals, simulations could be used to study diseases and innovate therapies. For example, seismologists use simulations to study the effects of earthquakes and seismic waves. This approach could be applied in a scientific environment. In conclusion, I believe that experimenting on animals is useful to contribute to the findings of treatments due to the fact that not all diseases present in humans would put animals in danger. Moreover, there are also other options that do not involve the use of living organisms such as incorporating A.I and technology into these industries.