It is becoming increasingly popular for people to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Do the advantages of having a gap year outweigh its disadvantages?

In this present world, the popularity of students having a gap year between graduating from school and starting for the university had increased gradually. From my point of view, although by having a gap year seems to be a waste of time, they offer an opportunity for students to find themselves and be able to learn in a correct career path in the university. On the one hand, one of the advantage of students having a gap year is that they have time to search for jobs they would like to do. As we all know, working life takes more than half of our lifetime. Some of the students use this gap year opportunity to search for their jobs that they have a passion on by doing the work placement or taking a short course. I truly believe that if we are able to work on what we enjoy with, we will be able to work more efficiently than others who did not have a passion on which result for more opportunity to grow on that career path. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of having a gap year which one of that is the waste of time. Some people have done the work placement and still not sure of the path they will be choosing and ending up by learning on a course that they might not like. Moreover, it might make the students to miss some of the opportunities on their career path. For instance, in the covid pandemic situation, jobs are very hard to find. If the students did not have a year off they might already have a job as a year earlier the world situation is still normal as usual. To summarize, it is true to say that by having a year off will help students to find a career that they really want to work on. However, it might be a waste of time if that person did not find what career that they really want to work for the rest of their life.