Nowadays, many people spend their free time watching movies. Why do they do that? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Are stress-busting and economic features inducing people to watch movies in their leisure time? Apparently, watching movies in idle hours is a positive development because it can be considered as an infotainment method and a good day out for individuals. This essay will delve deeper into these points in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, watching films is being pondered as a fine option for free time by people for multiple reasons. Foremost, after a hectic day, an unflappable state of mind can be obtained by this method. For example, engrossing funny movies assist in laughter and the release of endocrine hormones, which lower the brain and body movement to make it relax. In addition, since a number of online free websites provide either free of cost or charge a nominal cost for the subscription packs to watch movies, it is a pocket-friendly tool for individuals and also they can watch movies on mobiles anywhere in their leisure time. Further, it is certainly a positive approach for free time and the primary reason behind this statement is that movie watching can be an infotainment one. For example, a painstaking survey conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in March 2023 stated that 7 out of 10 people of age between 18-26 years were keenly interested in watching movies in their free time because they got both entertainment and information in one place. If they watch movies containing information and humorous content, it can make them happy and enlighten them with historical and social facts. What is more, watching the cinema is a good family day out on weekends when people have plenty of free time and such a small effort strengthens their family bonds. To conclude, it is unequivocal that due to its tranquillising and cost-effective nature, people are choosing to watch movies in their free time and certainly it is a positive progress.