Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

While some people want to work for themselves, others choose to work for an employer. However, the number of people who are self-employed has increased lately. The aim of this essay is to examine the reasons for being self-employed and also investigate the drawbacks which have resulted in this. There are various advantages for individuals to be their own boss. First of all, working for a company or organisation comes with rules and regulations. For example, every association has certain work hours and there are compulsories and forbidden in a workplace. Therefore some workers might find these regulations suffocating. Because when they are the boss, they can fix their schedules and the rules for the workplace. Furthermore, employees might have aims, and working for a company may not fulfil their goals. As a result, they can desire to be employers in order to achieve their aims and to be more flexible. On the other hand, the unfavourable consequences of being in charge should also be taken into consideration. For instance, working for yourself can be more demanding compared to being an employee in a company. Because of the fact that bosses have more responsibility and they should be in control of every aspect of the business. Moreover, there is always a risk for the businesses failing. Consequently, they can be under pressure to maintain their businesses. Thus, being self-employed might be burdensome in some aspects. To conclude, to be self-employed can be wanted in order to have a more flexible working style and achieve a certain goal. Nevertheless, there are numerous drawbacks to this. To illustrate, it may be more challenging and there is a risk of failure. And I agree with this viewpoint.