In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway line for very fast trains between cities. Other believe that money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is argued that investing more money to construct new railways is crucial while others assert that allocating a budget to improve existing public conveyance is equally vital. I believe that these two actions can shape a harmonious development if they can be done simultaneously. This essay will shed some light on the issue and discuss both points of view. On the one hand, constructing new railways could provide an alternative choice to people for using public transportation. For example, Indonesia released a new means of transportation connecting Jakarta, its capital city, with Bandung, namely “WOOSH”, a bullet train. People can commute between these cities in only 45 minutes whereas if they take buses or use their own cars will allocate time from 3 to 4hours. As a result, it can save people from time-consuming activities and make their lives easier. On the other hand, improving existing public transport is also critical. Take Jakarta for example, governments are struggling to find solutions to handle traffic congestion in this big city. Authorities put their focus on improving the transport facilities such as maximizing the use of “Transjakarta”, public busses, that operate to accommodating people to move around Jakarta or even to neighbouring cities of Jakarta. They are maintaining their stations (bus stops) so that they can accommodate a large number of people, adding more buses, and managing their routes. Consequently, these initiatives can lead people to have an awareness of using public conveyance. To sum up, allocating money for expanding new lines on railways and maximizing the current facilities are two of the solutions that the government can focus on. I believe that committing to these actions can gradually solve the problems in big cities as well as shit people ’s attitude towards considering always taking public transportation.