Some people think controls should be made for the media such as newspaper to publish other people’s private lives, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that the activities of the media such as the national dailies as regards publication about people's personal lives should be checked while others have argued that no such restrictions be placed in their duties. This essay agrees with the former position that there should be restrictions on information, particularly those relating to people's private matters; that can be released to the public domain. The essay will discuss both views. To start with, people should have rights to their own private lives, and such rights must be protected by the state. In other words, encroaching on such legal entitlement of the members of society by the press, through releasing confidential information personal to them without their consent or approval, can be considered as violating their rights, except such matter borders around a threat to the public peace. For example, a press agent can be liable, if they publicly release confidential details of an individual without having obtained the necessary permission, and such agent may have to pay through their nose, compensations to the concerned individual. Conversely, restricting the activities of the media in this way, limit them significantly from effectively performing their duties, especially in the case of information pertaining to officials holding public services. Such constraining law will not allow them to carry out proper investigative journalism as essential, besides, the public is looking up to them to release unbias and full reports from time to time. A good example is the case of a government official who embezzled public funds, and he or she is being investigated by the media. He can now hide under the cover of the law to restrict the publication of news concerning his misconduct, and can even buy his way through to beat justice. In conclusion, though the media, should be allowed to perform their duties without restriction, I believe the right of an individual to his or her confidentiality is sacrosanct and should be protected by the law of the land.