Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Massive population in a lot of big city centres worldwide is are a significant issue. This is usually due to the fact that only these places offer more job and business opportunities as well as possess better health and recreational facilities than the countryside. This can be resolved by ensuring these services are fairly distributed around all parts of the country. Many major urban centres around the globe are monopolised with the best health facilities as well as places where people can relax. This in itself lures the masses from other parts of the country to these places so that they too can have an opportunity to enjoy similar activities. Take, for instance, the city of Lusaka which alone boasts of having more than 7 recreational facilities more than any other city around the country and thus attracts huge numbers of newcomers on a daily basis resulting in overpopulation of the city. Additionally, it is only in these big cities that career and business opportunities tend to thrive easily thereby resulting in more people flocking to the city in search of such. Gladly, these problems can be dealt with by simply decentralising the major cities and promoting industrialization in all the corners of each country. In other words, the governing authorities should ensure that investment does not only take place in the major cities but also spreads to other parts of a country so that people do not migrate to the major cities just to access those services or opportunities. For example, if a government restricted the number of recreational facilities that can be built in a city, this could force the investors to set up such places in the other parts of the country thus minimising the number of people moving to bigger cities. The same could be done for the health facilities as well as for industries so that job opportunities can be readily available equally everywhere in a country. By way of conclusion, it is clear that major urban centres are overpopulated due to the fact that only these have all the latest recreational and health facilities as well as present more career and business opportunities than other cities in a country, However, this could be resolved by decentralisation and ensuring that other parts of the country also have the similar kind of facilities and job opportunities.