Universities should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The amount of men that start a subject in a college is usually different than the number of women. Some people argue that this difference is a problem and thus an equal number of female and male students must be accepted in each topic. This essay will explain why this idea is wrong. firstly, women and men prefer to study different subjects, for,instance more men like to study STEM careers than women while more women are willing to study arts than men. This is not in any way something negative, it is just their preferences. Additionally, that does not mean that one gender is better at a subject than another. Therefore, if an equal number of male and female students becomes mandatory, many good students will not be accepted just because of their sex. On the other hand, others students will start studying a subject just because is easy for them to be accepted because there are too few of their gender. In both scenarios, students are not studying what they want. In the first, the reason for this is that they were not accepted and in the second they only chose that topic because it was easy to be accepted. Secondly, if there is a limit in the number of students, then a better outcome will come from selecting the best students regardless of their gender. A better student will learn more and faster. Thus, turning down female or male individuals to achieve gender equality will result in good students not being accepted and therefore a reduced academic performance. To sum up, there are 2 main disadvantages in only accepting the same number of male and female students, some of them will not study what they want and some good students that deserve to study will be rejected. These reasons are enough to discard that idea completely.